The Return of “Grit”

“My Grandma always use to say that if I just tried hard I could be anything I wanted.” Yes, the American school system has rediscovered trying hard as a means to achieve success. They’re calling it “grit.” My parents and grandparents just called it “being alive,” but if you were raised in the “everyone gets a prize just for showing up” era, this will seem radical to you.

I am simply thrilled to see people trying to tap this resource and pass it on to others.

http://www.npr.org/2014/03/17/290894364/on-the-syllabus-lessons-in-grit

Leave a Reply

